Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

the-weeping-woman

The Weeping Woman by Pablo Picasso

I have been told that I am an illustrator, not an artist. An illustrator draws what he sees with his eyes; an artist draws what he sees in his mind. Well ………..  that is quite possibly true.

This is no judgment against modern art or specifically Picasso. I just don’t get it.

I’ve begun a digital art class and one of the assignments was to pick out colors in different pieces of artwork that demonstrated “color plasticity.” Huh?

Supposedly, there are certain color combinations where colors “push and pull” at each other. Huh?

Opposing colors can cause the eye to move across the canvas while others are more “static” and cause the eye to get stuck in one location. Huh?

I’ll have to take your word for it ………. I don’t get it.

I, eh hem, didn’t score very high on that test.

Exodus 31:1-6 (NIV)

Then the Lord said to Moses, “See, I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with wisdom, with understanding, with knowledge and with all kinds of skills— to make artistic designs for work in gold, silver and bronze, to cut and set stones, to work in wood, and to engage in all kinds of crafts. Moreover, I have appointed Oholiab son of Ahisamak, of the tribe of Dan, to help him. Also I have given ability to all the skilled workers to make everything I have commanded you:”

God is an artist and he loves beauty. He has placed in the hearts and minds of many people the ability to create works of art.

“It is important to define beauty. Art that is created to shock or horrify, or to glorify or elicit sin (violence, lust, greed) cannot be called “beautiful.” It is still “art” but not art that glorifies God. Art that glorifies God must have the same two properties as the designs created in Exodus 31. First, it must be “artistic”; that is, it must be creative, well executed (a good representation of the object) and well crafted (well made). It must have worth as an object of value. Second, it should be something of which the artist can say, “God put it in my heart to make this.” gotquestions.org

I agree with the above statement.

What do you think?

Mugs up!

All verse quotes courtesy of biblegateway.com