Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

SheepFlock

So how long has the darkness lasted?

In 1993, our family began supporting our first child through World Vision, a young boy in Kenya. We continued to sponsor him until he was too old for the program. For a while we lost contact until he managed to find me on Facebook; since then we have communicated regularly through social media and messaging.

Yesterday morning as I was about to walk out the door to go to church, I received a phone call. I looked at the caller ID and realized it was my once small child from Kenya, now 25, calling me by WIFI. Oh the marvels of modern technology! I was surprised because he had never attempted to call me. I answered and we talked for a while. During the conversation, I discovered something he hadn’t told me before; he had never known his father. His father had either disappeared or died when he was very young. Because of this, in a very touching way, he considers me his father, the only father he has ever known. When I asked why specifically he had called, he told me had never heard my voice and he wanted to know the sound of his father’s voice.

John 10:27-30 (ESV)

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”

There’s something comforting about a recognizable a voice. Children know the sound of their parents’ voices, parents know the sound of their children’s. Nothing soothes a child from a bad dream like the sound of his mother or father’s voice.

We long to know the voice of our Father. We long to hear him speak to us so that we can be reassured about who we are and where we are going. We long to know that we are loved and cared for, no matter what happens. We long to feel his arms around us and hear him say we are so important to him, that he would do anything, even die for us.

And he has ………….

All verse quotes courtesy of biblegateway.com